Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collaborative MBA: Finding Articles

Looking for journal, magazine, or newspaper articles?  There are many options for finding the resources you need; learn more by reviewing this guide.

What is WINDOW?

WINDOW is a powerful tool that lets you search the Bluffton library catalog and many research databases with a single search box.  It's built on the same platform as several of our databases, so it will look familiar to users of Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and other EBSCO databases.

WINDOW helps you quickly find relevant resources on a research topic without having to decide which database(s) to search. You can limit your search results in a variety of ways, including publication date, scholarly designation.

Some of our research databases have powerful search features which are only available in their unique interfaces.  To take advantage of those richer features, you may choose to search that particular database individually.  

Learn more at our guide devoted to WINDOW.

Searching WINDOW from off-campus?  You may be asked to enter your last name and ID barcode number before seeing your search results.

Finding Articles using WINDOW

WINDOW searches many research databases at once (in addition to the Bluffton Catalog). To search WINDOW, enter your search terms and click on the Search button.  For more help with searching, visit the Search Strategy tab on this guide.

Your results will include both books and articles. On the left side of the screen, you can limit your results in a number of ways, for example, to academic journals.

In many cases, the complete text of articles will be available from within WINDOW or the research databases. When the full text isn't available, request the article using our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. We'll attempt to obtain a copy of that article for you.

Searching WINDOW from off-campus?  You may be asked to enter your last name and ID barcode number before seeing your search results.

Search WINDOW (Bluffton catalog and many research databases)
  |   Advanced Search    [What is WINDOW?]

Interlibrary Loan

In many cases, articles will be available fulltext from within WINDOW, or in the research databases. But if they aren't, don't give up. We can often get the articles for you. Visit our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) page and place a request using the forms linked there.

How long does it take? Articles can be available in about a week. But it can take up to three weeks, so it’s helpful if you do your research early so that we can better assist you.

How will the article be delivered?
Usually the article will be delivered by email, so be sure to include your email address on your requests.

The ILL page includes a number of FAQs that you can refer to for additional information.

You can also contact Audra Oglesbee, Access Services Coordinator and Circulation Supervisor, at oglesbeea@bluffton.edu or 419-358-3271.

What are Research Databases?

A research database is a searchable collection of many types of sources. A database might include journal, magazine, or newspaper articles, book chapters, book reviews, reports, and other types of published information. These collections might be topic-specific and narrowly-focused, or they may be very broad and comprehensive in the subject matter they include. There is a certain expectation of quality, respectability and accuracy that goes with being included in the research databases that we provide to you at the library's website.

Searching databases from off-campus?  You may be asked to enter your last name and ID barcode number prior to searching.

Search Databases

Searching individual databases allows for a more specialized search experience.  The search and refine options in individual databases are sometimes more complex and focused than what WINDOW provides.  

Consult these links for lists of individual research databases related to the Collaborative MBA program.  Or, view a list of all Research Databases.

Searching databases from off-campus?  You may be asked to enter your last name and ID barcode number prior to searching.


A Place for Everyone: databases commonly used by students in all programs of study at Bluffton.

Research databases for searching on business-related topics

Research databases for searching on social work topics

Research databases for searching on health care and medicine topics

Need Help? Ask Us!

Unsure about what you're reading here?  Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with a Bluffton librarian who can help you understand.